Tenth Judicial Circuit Law Firm Leaders Pro Bono Summit

Almost 37% of Illinois citizens are low-income, with 6.3% of the total population living in extreme poverty. Law firm leaders play an important role in providing those in poverty with legal assistance by supporting and encouraging a culture of pro bono within law firms. Join members of the judiciary, law firm leaders, and other pro bono stakeholders for a lunch and panel discussion hosted by the Tenth Judicial Circuit Pro Bono Committee on the need for free legal assistance for individuals and families living in poverty in the Tenth Judicial Circuit.


  • Welcome
    • Honorable Paul P. Gilfillan, Chief Judge, Tenth Circuit
    • Honorable Lisa Y. Wilson, Chair of the Tenth Judicial Circuit Pro Bono Committee
  • View from the Bench – Hear judicial perspectives on the need for pro bono in the courtroom.
    • Honorable Mark E. Gilles, Tenth Judicial Circuit
    • Honorable Suzanne L. Patton, Tenth Judicial Circuit
    • Honorable Lisa Y. Wilson, Tenth Judicial Circuit
  • Value of Pro Bono Service – Hear from law firm leaders who encourage pro bono service within their firm on how pro bono benefits the private bar.
    • Mitch M. Gilfillan of Quinn, Johnston, Henderson, Pretorius & Cerulo
    • Jeffrey E. Krumpe of Miller, Hall & Triggs, LLC
    • Tom O’Neal of Howard & Howard Attorneys PLLC
  • Pro Bono in the Tenth Judicial Circuit – Learn about the specific pro bono opportunities in your community.
    • Michael G. Bergmann, Public Interest Law Initiative (PILI)
    • Denise E. Conklin, Prairie State Legal Services

This program is complimentary and lunch will be provided as well as 1.0 hour of Illinois MCLE Professional Responsibility credit, subject to approval.

Thank you to our co-sponsors: Commerce Bank, Peoria County Bar Association, Prairie State Legal Services, and Tazewell County Bar Association.

Advance registration is required by Monday, September 9th. If you have any questions or problems with the form, please contact Rebecca Fernández by email or by phone at 312-832-5127.