Public Interest Law Initiative

Make a Nomination

The Third Judicial Circuit Pro Bono Service Awards will be presented to one or more lawyers practicing in the Third Judicial Circuit who have provided outstanding pro bono services to low-income individuals and charitable organizations in the last year.

You may submit a self-nomination or nominate a colleague, and you may also submit multiple nominations. The awards are intended to recognize pro bono legal services rendered in the last twelve months. It only takes 5-10 minutes to complete the nomination.

The deadline for nominations on Friday, August 24th. Award recipients will be chosen by the Third Judicial Circuit Pro Bono Committee and announced in September. They will be recognized at the Celebrate Pro Bono Luncheon on October 23rd at the Leclaire Room at Lewis and Clark Community College in Edwardsville.

Download a flyer about the award »

If you have any questions, please contact PILI Program Manager Sarah Taylor by email or by phone at 312-832-5127.

Past Award Recipients:

Pro Bono Firm of the Year: HeplerBroom LLC (2017)
HeplerBroom attorneys provide legal advice to low-income individuals through the Ask a Lawyer Clinic and accept cases referred by local organizations. The firm’s lawyers have saved a senior citizen’s home from tax sale and represented parents seeking guardianship of their disabled adult children.

Pro Bono Attorney of the Year: Terrence O’Leary, Bosslet & O’Leary, Ltd. (2017)
Terry regularly provides free legal advice at the Legal Advice Clinic in the Madison County Law Library. He also volunteers at Christmas in April and the St. Vincent DePaul Food Kitchen. Additionally, Terry is helping prepare the next generation of attorneys by being a leader in the mentoring program for new attorneys.

Rising Pro Bono Star: Zachary Pashea, HeplerBroom LLC (2017)
Zachary Pashea has been a constant volunteer at the Legal Advice Clinic in the Madison County Law Library over the last twelve months, and has proven to be a reliable source of advice for those using the clinic. He consistently reaches out to learn about more volunteer opportunities.

Simmons Hanly Conroy (2016)
Leslie Wood (2016)
Jennifer Shaw (2015)
Rising Pro Bono Star Award: Trent Cameron (2015)
Tanja M. Cook (2014)
Judge Ralph Mendelsohn (2013)
Elizabeth “Nikki” Carrion (2012)
The Honorable Lola Maddox (2011)
Michael Meehan (2010)
Deborah Crouse Cobb (2010)
Gail Donnelly Bader (2009)
Erin Reilly (2008)

Stay Connected. Sign Up For Our Newsletter: