Public Interest Law Initiative

PILI Announces 2017 Annual Awards Recipients

Posted on: October 6, 2017

Congratulations to our 2017 annual awards recipients! They were selected from among many nominations for their outstanding contributions to public interest law and pro bono in Illinois. This year’s awardees will be recognized during our special 40th Anniversary Awards Gala on November 30th.

Distinguished Public Service Award:

The Distinguished Public Service Award honors an individual whose commitment to public interest work has shaped a career dedicated to service.

Bernard H. Shapiro
Prairie State Legal Services, Inc.

Distinguished PILI Alumni Awards:

The Distinguished Alumni Awards recognize one former PILI Intern and one former PILI Fellow for outstanding contributions of public interest and/or pro bono work.

Susan DeCostanza
Chicago Volunteer Legal Services
2007 PILI Intern

Brij B. Patnaik
Jenner & Block
2009 PILI Fellow

Pro Bono Initiative Award:

The Pro Bono Initiative Award acknowledges a single entity for its significant pro bono work in the community.

McDermott Will & Emery LLP

Awards will be presented at PILI’s 40th Anniversary Awards Gala on Thursday, November 30, 2017 at the Palmer House Hilton in Chicago. Sponsorship opportunities and ticket sales are available now. Learn more about our 40th Anniversary Awards Gala »

See the full list of past Annual Awards recipients »

Stay Connected. Sign Up For Our Newsletter: